Skip to content

Visited the dentist

2010/12/23

I don’t hate going to the dentist.  I don’t like it, either.  On the one hand, dentists no longer carve out samples from the patients’ mouths with scalding hot I-don’t-know-whats (Boy by Roald Dahl during read-aloud time in elementary school is not traumatic at all).  On the other hand, they use squealing, pointy metal objects to scrape my teeth and poke my gums.  I have the impression that a mysterious source of jets of hot water is involved but I can’t tell if that comes from the pointy metal thing or if I imagined the hot-water jets.  Still, I realize that the DDS is attempting to keep tooth decay and pain and cavities at bay with this process, so I’m like, “O.K., you’ve got to do what you’ve got to do.”

I don’t understand why the dentist has to polish my teeth.  I don’t need them to sparkle.  I don’t even care that my teeth aren’t pure white (well, first the dentist had to tell me that was natural, but once I knew, I accepted it).  And what is that slightly minty, gritty stuff that the polisher thing dips into?  I thought of how some polish-your-own-pretty-rocks kits involve grinding the rocks in this special sand in a special machine.  Is that gritty stuff like the special sand, except for teeth?  Is it sanding my teeth? May I be the last to panic, but golly, I’d rather have my teeth whole than shiny, thanks.
I hope it’s not sanding my teeth.  I want to give the polisher dip the benefit of a doubt and say, “Maybe it’s a polisher like a sealant, like that stuff you put on tile floor to make it easier to clean.”

Any dentists here?  I know I only have a reader or two, but if one just stumbles here by accident, I’d appreciate a little reassurance.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

